Moments for 2012

By February I will no longer remember this post. True, sad and yet it will not stop me from proclaiming this anyway.

In honor of the New Year, I feel the need to reflect and set some personal goals for 2012.

So far this is what I’ve got:

Be in the moment

This proves to be one of the biggest challenges that I face. Everything I do seems to have a sense of urgency. I feel a compulsion to “get through” things to be ready for the next. Including (but not exclusive to) fun and enjoyable activities, like a pedicure. I can’t help but think, “I will go to the grocery store, and then home, let me check my email, should I make chicken…If I get out of here fast enough I can hit the bank…” and then my feet are done and an hour later I am no more relaxed or satisfied than before I walked in the salon door.

Totally not the point of a pedicure. Or eating dinner with friends or painting or cooking or shopping etc. You catch my drift. I sense that maybe this is not a problem I face alone? Hmmm. You can share. Go ahead, let it out. That’s what the comment section is for. Or it’s just there for you to shower me with love and rainbows. I’m good either way.

So I’ve decided this nonsense needs to be curbed. I realize I exhaust myself with this “waiting to move on” business. I never have a feeling of completion or satisfaction because I am never able to check off everything on my revolving list. It’s like the “song that doesn’t end.” Sorry. I know. I should have never typed that because it’s now playing over and over in your head too, right? Damn my ability to share with out care for the well-being of my loyal readers! Suffer as I do friends, it just makes us better friends!

Anyways, back to the point.

I need to focus on being in the moment with what it is I am doing. Whether it be work, time with friends or making dinner, I have the goal of being in it and not be focused on what comes next!

I will be taking advice from this one here:

I dare say, she seems to have it down to a science.

Hope that your Holidays rocked and that your resolutions will be met! If not, we will have no recollection of them by spring and possibly, we may not even care! A win, win either way!

Best luck of peeps, best of luck!

~L

One thought on “Moments for 2012

  1. Pingback: Word of the Year « A Little Bit of Boondock Life

Leave a Reply

