Cooperstown

Sometimes I forget that people actually vacation where I live. People pay money, travel miles and count down days until they are where I am. Pretty humbling to think about as I get lost in the fantasies of far away lands. The grass is always greener eh?

So, with that in mind I started to take a look around at the nearby places that are vacation worthy and make some day trips.

One of those fantastic places is Cooperstown, NY. Only an hour and fifteen minutes away. How could you beat that? Last week I enlisted my BFF Sarah and her sons to embark on a day of vacation fun.

We decided to hit the Fenimore Art Museum first. I forgot to take a photo so please, click the link.

Absolutely Gorgeous! They had a traveling photography exhibit of Frida Kahlo: Through the Lens of Nickolas Muray. For those of you that know me, you know that I have a degree in Latin American and Caribbean Studies. So you would know that this exhibit nearly had me wetting my pants in excitement! It was such a great surprise!

We then moved onward to downtown Cooperstown for lunch and baked treats!

For those of you who might not know, Cooperstown is home to the Baseball Hall of Fame. We decided against visiting there on this trip because Sarah and fam had already been there twice. I, not being the least bit interested in sports, breathed a sigh of relief. I am sure that my next trip out there I will probably do a tour, but really I much prefer looking at chickens and pigs. As exhibited below. Tomato, Tomahto.

image

image

image

image

image

Clearly I was not alone in my love of domestic poultry and pork.

After a fantastic lunch we made our way to the Farmer’s Museum. Clearly the highlight of the day for me, as it was the only place I actually felt compelled enough to take photographs. image

image

If you have never been I suggest you make the trip. I find it a great deal more awesome than Colonial Williamsburg. But then again, I am bias. This is only an hour from my house and costs a whopping twelve bucks to enter. Virginia and Williamsburg on the other hand took twelve hours and many dollars to see.

While yes, the Farmer’s Museum does focus a great deal on agriculture, their campus is that of a Nineteenth Century rural village with live demonstrations. Such an incredible and magical place that for two minutes a sixteen year old was six again and holding his mama’s hand. That is magical. I don’t care what you say. See evidence below…

image

See. I told you.

Below are more of my favorite images from the Farmer’s Museum. I took many just so y’all could feel like you were there. Some day, I may actually start to take good and purposeful photos. Until then you must suffer with afterthought phone photos.
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Lovely, isn’t it? I know. It was a wonderful day. Cooperstown is a fantastically beautiful place that offers a diverse array of activities that are sure to please to most diverse groups. Visit if you can.

If not, take a little literary escape with, The Monsters of Templeton by Cooperstown native Lauren Groff. Isn’t it funny how all the best people are named Lauren? Just sayin’ 🙂

Until my next local-cation…

image

One thought on “Cooperstown

  1. Pingback: Northern Light « A Little Bit of Boondock Life

Leave a Reply

