Girls Night Out

“oh yes it’s ladies night…”

Once a month my four former co-workers and I meet up for drinks, food and letting loose.

It is such a blessing to have such diverse, honest and faithful gal pals to share you stress with! Bless their hearts they always manage to help heal the stress of a long day with love, laughter and great conversation! I wish we didn’t live so far apart because I miss seeing their awesomeness everyday!

This month the girls made the trek out to almost my end of the Boondocks and met me in Galway, NY at the tasty Village Pizzeria.

I have to say, it was a lovely night despite the fact that they only served wine and beer, which meant that some of the gang was not feeling the alcohol induced euphoria that I experienced.  Even still, the food was terrific and we had a great time catching up and trading stories of disbelief that make up our life experiences. Poor P.K. and her family room saga! Stuck in a renovation nightmare since December it is incredible to hear the stories of crazy that keep her from getting the room finished! I feel for ya lady!

I do have to gush for just one minute about the amazing appetizer special we enjoyed.

Ricotta and Prosciutto Stuffed Zucchini Flowers!

OMG! My fav!

I nearly had a heart attack when the waitress announced these at the table. How did they know that I was coming? And that this dish would literally blow my socks off?

“The world may never know…” (Tootsie Roll Pops? Duh?)

So, in honor of my favorite night of the month, here is a recipe for tastiest summertime treat from Williams-Sonoma

This is as close to my version as I could find online (because I am lazy and didn’t feel like typing it out) with one little suggestion. I use prosciutto like it’s a rented mule and put it in everything I can, so here I would sub the icky anchovies and put in the Prosciutto. But hey, that’s just me.

Plus they get a little too fancy with the sparkling mineral water and thermometers etc.

Go with your gut, substitute where you want

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt, plus more, to taste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup cold sparkling mineral water
  • 1 Tbs. vegetable oil, plus more for deep-frying
  • 2 oz. fresh mozzarella cheese
  • 10 anchovy fillets, cut in half crosswise
  • 20 large squash blossoms

Directions:

In a small bowl, stir together the flour and the 1 tsp. salt. Add the eggs, mineral water and the 1 Tbs. vegetable oil and whisk just until blended. Cut the mozzarella into sticks 1 inch long by 1/4 inch wide by 1/4 inch thick. Pat the anchovies dry with paper towels.

In a heavy fry pan or sauté pan at least 3 inches deep, pour in oil to a depth of 1 inch and heat to 375°F on a deep-frying thermometer or until a bit of the batter sizzles when dropped into the oil. Alternatively, pour oil into an electric deep fryer and heat according to the manufacturer’s instructions to 375ºF.

While the oil is heating, gently spread open the petals of each flower and carefully pinch out the filaments inside. Insert a piece of the cheese and an anchovy half into each flower and press the petals closed.

One at a time, dip the flowers into the batter, turning to coat completely. Lift out and let the excess drip off. Working with a few at a time, slip the battered flowers into the hot oil and fry until golden brown on all sides, about 4 minutes. Using tongs or a slotted spoon, transfer the blossoms to paper towels to drain and season with salt. Serve immediately, then fry the remaining flowers. Makes 20.

Adapted from Williams-Sonoma Savoring Series, Savoring Italy, by Michele Scicolone (Time-Life Books, 1999).
~L
3 thoughts on “Girls Night Out

  1. I too, look forward to our monthly forays and I too, wish we lived closer . Thank goodness for GPS, cause the boondocks is not where you want to get lost. (Is that a banjo I hear in the distance? – Deliverance? anyone?) Anyhow, once again had a great time.

    As to the recipie, WAY too much work! Seriously. God bless you darling, but it wouldn’t be me.

    Can’t wait to see you next month! Kisses!

  2. I too had a great time, not surprised at all. I have already started to gather stories for next month.
    Once again tell Bryan Thank You for a GREAT GREAT Job on the ceiling that is the one thing that did go well with this room.

  3. Aussie Saw Sharpeners, Custom Hope Chests (for Boondock Brides) Boy Haven Campground …need I say more about the Boondock scenary?! LOVED IT!! and to think at the end of the truck to the boonies we got Zucchini flowers stuffed with food, tres chic and so yummy!!

    Bobby Flay ain’t never been to the Boondocks!!

Leave a Reply

