The “O” word

Ha! You thought I was talking about “she who shall not be named, ahum, Oprah.” Nope, although she would approve. In fact it is one of the necessary tools to leading your “Best Life” as she says.

I am a talkin’ ’bout ORGANIZATION!

This for sure, is the way to a happy life. AS you know, this is my life. I live to organize. It is a hobby. Drilled into my very soul by my Grandmother Theresa. It is as much a part of my being as is the cellulite on my ass. Both I am sure will be with me for the long haul.

For many however, organization seems elusive. A dream. Most seem paralyzed by idea of beginning to organize their physical spaces. But we all organize in some way, whether we are conscious of it or not. Scheduling for instance is a form of organization,  known often as time management. Those of you with offspring do this constantly and probably don’t realize the amount of skill that you have developed with it. Breakfast, Laundry, School, Work, Soccer, Doctor Appointments, Dinner, etc. You get the point. You may barely write it down and keep it going in your heads or you may have complex color coated calendars (I fall into the latter.) Either way it is all organization.

Work constantly require a renegotiation of your time, and reorganization of tasks. Following a recipe and helping chitlins with homework all while thinking about how you need to call to get the furnace cleaned are time management in action.

So you see. You are organized. You have the skills, the know how, the unconscious ability to move throughout twenty issues a minute. So you know what that means? It means you have no reason to walk away from that pile of laundry. No reason to shut the door on a closet about ready to burb out your last decade of clothing. What you have are excuses. “The kids need me”, “I don’t have the time”, “No one helps me”, “I had to check my emails, and then Facebook, and then see if I could find a recipe for Chicken Chili, and then I had to pick my nose.”…

You see the reality. You know the truth. The truth is cleaning up and throwing out are not as much fun as making the mess and bringing in more. Sure you have help with the excess but really you are the one in control of the organizational destiny of your home.

I am here today to tell you that you CAN do it! And when you do it you will gain happiness, more free time, better health and I guarantee it will make your life easier.

“Oh, you think it’s so easy but I don’t have the money, space, blah, blah blah.” That is right amigos I do think it is that easy, because it is! The hard part is telling yourself that you are worth it. Once you come to the truth that this organization is for you, you give yourself agency and self worth. Most women have a hard time telling themselves that they are worth it. You are worth the hour at the gym, the walk with your friend, the healthy dinner and the organized life. No, it is not selfish. Stop that!!

You are not ignoring or short changing your children by taking time to do things like organize and exercise for yourself. Quite the opposite actually. You are becoming a positive role model for your children, husband, friends. You are leading by example and showing them how to have self worth.  Which in turn will teach them to have respect for you and to value healthy life choices.

So do it. Start small. Open a drawer in the kitchen as you wait for the water to boil and get rid of what you don’t use. Have a donation box by the door and fill it each week. Have your children/husband join you by each going through one dresser drawer a week. Slowly but surely things will come easier.

“But my great, great grandmother saw me eat a piece of easter cake in that dress!” or “I spent $20 on that pampered chef dish back in 1991.” This is what you will be thinking as you come across things from the past. Things that were tucked away with all the best of intentions. And this is what you will tell yourself. “If I haven’t seen it or used it in a year I need to get rid of it. If I have more than one, I need to get rid of it. My children will not want this in 10 years. I need to dress for the size I am and not the size I think I should be.” Say these things to yourself and you will move toward that vision of life you are dreaming about.

“What vision?” you ask. The vision of your life at its best. Set some realistic expectations of what you want your space to be and go for it! Every thing in it’s place and a place for everything! You can do it! You are worth it!

Need some help? I am always here for you friends! I am a fountain of tips and strategies waiting to be had!

Also check out some of these resources, they are great and inspirational. From big mess battles to daily strategies to keep clutter at bay, these peeps have it down to a science. But do not be intimidated! Remember to keep your vision in mind. Modify plans to fit your life and your vision. Use these as guide points along your journey!

LifeOrganizers

Organized Home

NAPO

Peter Walsh

There. Did I have time on my hands or what? Hope that someone finds this helpful and motivating, best of luck!

Hearts and Organized hugs!

~L

Leave a Reply

