Strawberry fields

I was craving sweet.

That is never a good thing. I crave sweet often. As a result my house is void of any store bought delicacies. No cookies, no cake, no chocolate, no cupcakes, no pop tarts, nada!

Living without store bought treats been a two year life style choice and honestly it has gotten way easier with time.

It does mean that on occasion, when the sweet tooth is extremely motivated, I will bake.

Was that a collective gasp? You people! Really!

Ok, I didn’t say that I bake well. But I can bake. When it’s not from a box. Lest we relive the birthday cake gone wrong of 2010.

A Skid-worker that I used to work with is an awesome baker. Once she made this delicious pound cake with buttercream frosting and fresh strawberries. It was to die for!

Unfortunately, while my new career has many awesome points, incredible confectionery delights are not one of them!

So, there I was. On a Sunday afternoon. Wanting something sweet. I pulled down the dessert binder and started flipping through. I landed on the pound cake and strawberry recipe.

I lacked the ingredients for the buttercream frosting, but I improvised with cool whip. I also lacked the strawberry preserves for the strawberry topping, so I improvised with blackberry preserves. I also am a little lazy, so I didn’t make it in to the layered cake. I made individual slices instead.

Oh, and I also lacked the almonds. But really, who’s to say?

Here are the fruits of my labor:

And here is how I got there:

Pound cake recipe from Williams and Sonoma

*disclaimer- this is not the recipe that I have from my friend the baker. I couldn’t find it online and I am way too tired to type the whole thing out. Yes, I am short changing you. But I remembered to take pics? Doesn’t that count for something?

2 cups sliced strawberries marinated with 1/4 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1 tbs. lemon juice, 2 tbs. blackberry preserves. Let them hang out together for 30 mins.

Slice the pound cake and spread a liberal amount of juice from the strawberry mixture

Top with cool whip and then lay on the strawberries!

Bring on the awesome!

So not the original but a delicious imposter.

Sweet tooth cured!

~L

2 thoughts on “Strawberry fields

Leave a Reply

