There are days

And then there are days.

These are some hard days this week. Sad stories happening to good people. This job is such a blessing, and has so many beautiful moments. It also brings me so close to so much heartache. I am so thankful that I am able to be utilized and that I can help such honest and wonderful people.

Today, as I have sometime to myself, I am reflecting on the events of this past week. How fast life can change and how little control we have over it. I admire the strength of my students and the courage they show. I can barely imagine dealing with some of their issues as me. Let alone facing these life problems without fully understanding our language or knowledge of our systems and culture. It is amazing to see how fearless they are, howΒ tirelessly they work. They never complain, never ask for help and face each challenge with courage. I am so thankful to be able to be a part of their lives and to help these terrific people!

But being a part of this has its tolls. My heart is heavy today. My mind is swirling. I wish I could do more and I feel so sad that I am so tired.

~L

3 thoughts on “There are days

  1. My dear friend, please lighten your heart and know this as truth: you are the answer to their prayers. They have asked God for help and you were sent. Plain and simple. I know the job is heartbreaking at times but just remember, you are exactly were you are supposed to be, you are offering help to the helpless in more ways than you can imagine. Be proud of yourself, I know I am!
    See you sunday. πŸ™‚

  2. I have the same experience in the arts and healing retreats, some for women surviving chronic illness and, possibly more evocatively, the women who have served in the military who return to face PTSD, trauma, loss of income, the residual effects of rape and assault, homelessness and hostility. I can’t even imagine walking in their shoes, but I can listen and I can help with the next steps for them. You have those remarkable talents, and that is what they are seeking when they are before you. Keep doing what you are doing and you will be blessed!

Leave a Reply

