Smelly good din-din

Dinner. Sometimes, I have to make it. Sometimes. I actually like to. Why? Why you ask? Because I’ve clearly lost all sense. I have a man who cooks for me and yet I willingly throw on the apron? Sometime ladies, I just do!

Inspired by fall and a recent trip to the State Fair (with my sister-in-law on Labor Day. Another post for another day. Okay, I’ll leave you with this…”I don’t dig on swine. Pig’s a filthy animal.” And they happen to big, huge and gi-normous! Where is that line from? Come on! You know this!!!! Hint, you say? Samuel L. Jackson. That’s all I’ll give ya!) I decided to make an apple dish.

Roasted Pork Loin with Apples and Cinnamon. In the immortal words of Rachael Ray “Yum-o!”

Tasty pork with an amazing apple gravy that just reeks of fall. Literally. My house smells entirely of all things autumn, it’s awesome!

So here it is

Rub pork loin with EVOO, 1/2 tsp. of ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and black pepper. Throw it in the oven at 350 for 45 mins. Meanwhile, slice two Empire or Cortland apples (and yes, this matters. Why? Because I spent 30 mins at the state fair learning about all the different apples NY state produces and what each one is good for, that’s why! 🙂 I sounded so scary right? Lol) mix them in a bowl with 1/2 tsp of ginger, cinnamon and nutmeg (NO BLACK PEPPER! I.Mistake. Pain. I learned the hard way. I don’t even want to talk about it! A whole batch of herbs ruined b/c I wasn’t paying attention! Such a Loser!) 1/2 cup white wine, 1/4 cup honey and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Let the apples hang out an marinate while the meat cooks. Then when you remove the meat from the oven, drain the juices into the apple mix then pop the apple mix on the stove top and let simmer for 10 mins until apples are tender. When you remove the meat let it stand for 10 mins wrapped in foil before slicing. Yes, Karen I-like-my-meat-like-shoe-leather, this will help the meat finish cooking while retaining its moisture. Do not slice until it has been standing for 10 mins. I repeated this because of you Karen-Karebear-McAuley, do NOT slice that loin until it has rested!

Then serve the meat sliced with the hot apple sauce over top. Viola! Instant autumn in your mouth! We had some baked potatoes and jazzed up corn for sides but I think roasted potatoes might go nicer next time. For me the meat and apples were enough but my picky pants husband some people need extra.

I forgot to take step by step, but really it’s so easy. So, all you get is the finished product

Ta da!!

~L

3 thoughts on “Smelly good din-din

  1. Sounds yummy! I’m even tempted to try it! I’ll probably call you for extra help. Love the tablecloth. Oh, and I love the fact that the meat actually looked cooked through!

Leave a Reply

