Eggplant Parmigiana

I know, I know. You’ve heard it all before. But really, I need y’all to eat this!

This is a classic, childhood favorite of mine. My Polish-heritage husband however, is not so fond of my Italian food roots. Now, because he enjoys cooking (and is really good at it) I have been more than happy to let my Italian comfort foods slip away from regular dinner rotations. I mean really, if  a man is willing to cook for you and on a nightly basis you don’t mess with that.

Every now and then though I get the urge to make a good ol’ Sunday dinner. Usually he obliges and eats the food with a sigh and says “it’s okay, it’s just not for me.” Crush. Stomp. Yep, right on my Italiana heart! I have tried to not take this personally but I can’t help but feel a little sad that the food I love is just, eh, to him.

This past Sunday I bought a beautiful eggplant and said husband be damned! I’m having me some Parmigiana! I prepared the eggplant just as Gramma taught me. This time however, I diverted from my usual sauce and did a quick and dirty rustic version. I served it with pasta and just about went to heaven with each piece I ate. Ready for the “eh” response from the hubster I braced myself when he took a bite. And then he took another bite. And then another!

“This is the best dinner ever! What did you do? This sauce is amazing! I can’t believe the flavor. Oh, my god! This is unbelievable!”

I did it. I did the impossible. I made an Italian meal that blew my husband’s socks off. Finally! Thank ya Jesus!

We feasted on this dish for three nights AND HE NEVER GO SICK OF IT!

Hallelujah!Hallelujah! Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Hallelujah!

So here it is ladies. A sauce so quick, so dirty that the FCC is issuing my fine as we speak!

Disclaimer: I do not measure or really watch time on anything I cook. I just kinda know and do things by approximation, sight and taste. Sorry!

Put 2 turns of evoo in a large deep, dish pan. 4 cloves of garlic peeled and pressed and a quarter of an onion finely chopped. Let the little guys get all translucent (about 3-5 mins) and then add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste. Mix it up with the onion/garlic. Then add two cans of diced tomatoes. DO NOT DRAIN. Mix them in good with the paste/onion mix and let simmer for 10 or 15 mins. Add chopped basil, salt, black pepper, a little nutmeg and some sugar and simmer till you think it’s the consistency you want. And poof, it’s done!

5 thoughts on “Eggplant Parmigiana

    • First you have to know that I am telling you this recipe in my grandmother’s Italian, Catholic, martyr, Brooklyn accent.

      You get a nice big eggplant. You slice it in quarta to half inch thick slices, which eva you like. Then you lay them out on, on a piece a, a papa towel. You know just one next to the otha. Then you sprinkle them with salt. Don’t be afraid. Sprinkle them, sprinkle them. There, there you go. Not too much! oh, okay, okay that’s alright. And then you put anotha piece of the paper toweling over them. This draws out the bitterness from the eggplant and the paper towels absorb the moisture. Let’em sit like that for a little while. Half hour to an hour.

      Then you put your oil in the deep dish frying pan and get it hot. Get a platter and put paper towel on it. Then you pat the eggplant slice dry. Coat them in some egg and then some Italian seasoned breadcrumb. Shake off the excess and put’em in the oil. Fry until golden on both side and put on paper towel platter to drain.

      Then in a large casserole dish put down some sauce. A layer of eggplant, some grated mozzarella and some grated pecorino romano. Then add another layer of sauce and eggplant and cheese. Repeat layers until the casserole is filled. Top with remaining cheese and bake at 350 until the cheese browns up on the top and it’s nice and bubbly. Make some spaghetti, toss it with a little sauce. Getchayaself a nice piece a good Italian bread and a good wine and there you go!

  1. Muah! Muah! It was delicious!!!! Everything… I made it last night…made extras for the kids coming home today…OMG the sauce! Oh the sauce! We loved it! We doubled the recipe so Big G and I could split it and use tonight again. Added lots of Italian seasoning, more sugar that you’d like, ground thyme, onion powder, and …..crushed up/diced package of seared hot italian sausages. Loved everything…thank you!

  2. UPDATE: The KIDS went bonkers for the eggplant parm and the rustic sauce last night….Even my pickiest eater, C, had seconds!!!!!!! Wow! You need to put that recipe in print lady! It’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

