Theresa! (oh, if only you could hear the accent!)

There she is! The voice in my head! The one, the only…THERESA!!!!

Yes ladies, this is my grandmother!! I know, I know! She looks old and frail (well frankly, she is) but this lady is a force to be reckoned with! I lived through boot camp Theresa and she has shaped me into the woman I am today.

This lady could out cook, clean and guilt you into submission before you even had a chance to move! Martha Stewart wishes she was half the lady my grammy is!

This past sunday we had “Sunday Dinner” at my Aunt’s house.  For all you non-Italians out there that means you settle in for a 5 hour, non-stop eat and yenta-fest! Husbands beware!

We began the meal with a fresh zucchini and black olive pizza, followed by a spinach and artichoke dip with garlic herb pita bread (and yes these are all homemade, nothing store-bought or frozen here!) then we had some grilled pineapples and peaches with balsamic vinegar. Oh, I’m sorry, did you think that was it? Ha! That was just the appetizers!

After a light respite from eating and a short dip in the pool and a nap for Gram(we ate outside and after 2 hours who couldn’t slip right into a food coma?) it was time for the main courses!

Eggplant Parmesan, grilled corn on the cob, fresh garlic and cheese sausage and salad.

Now comes the good stuff! Coffee and pastry from Villa Italia!

My grandmother’s favorite is the chocolate cannoli and a little bit Sfogliatel. I guess I inherited my sweet tooth from her! It musta been at the Nutatella sandwiches! And yes, I know it’s Nutella but at 15 when I tried to tell Theresa that, (after finally reading it on the label) she replied, “yeah, that’s what I said Nutatella!”  And really, who could argue with that!

Thank you Gram for all the advice, “Nutatella” and hilarious phrases a girl could ever need!

You too can live by the Theresa (loaded with Italian, Catholic-guilt)rules! They are simple: Clean your house constantly, cook fresh food everyday, eat chocolate whenever you can and love your family with all you’ve got! 

~ L

2 thoughts on “Theresa! (oh, if only you could hear the accent!)

  1. Not alot of the fresh food in my Irish household growing up, but plently of good ol’ Catholic guilt! Catholicism is not for wimps!

Leave a Reply

