Pumpkins, apples and paint! Oh my!

Originally uploaded by Batikart
 
 

 

Sniff. Do you smell that? Yup, it’s happening. Summer is ending and autumn is just about to arrive. Sure, we’ll have some killer hot days in the next few weeks. But come on. You know it’s happening! Just walk into any store and see the displays of back to school sales. And while I am sad to see summer go I can’t help but look forward to what’s next.

Now me, personally, I love fall! I love the colors, the smells, pumpkins and leaves turning colors and the crisp cool air. Everything about fall appeals to me. Apple picking, carving pumpkins baking pies and celebrating All Hallows Eve and Thanksgiving. I ask you, what could be better?

So, when deciding on colors and decorating options for my abode I am constantly influenced by the ideals of autumn. In walks Decorous Amber from Sherwin Williams. I have always wanted a pumpkin colored room in my house and by George I think it’s time!

Most of the color selections that I have chosen for my house have come off the Sherwin Williams Victorian Color Palette. This online brochure is actually quite far off from the printed brochure in the stores, so please take it with a grain of salt.

Nevertheless it has inspired my home painting projects this summer season. And up next is the dining room destined to become the Pumpkin Room! Right now it is a beige that has served me well but I think that all that shall change on my up coming vacation.

Here are some images that I have seen over the years that have inspired and feed the dream of a pumpkin room. So you have a dream color?

Martha Stewart, of course!

Cottagelove.blogspot.com

Mary-Frances

~L

2 thoughts on “Pumpkins, apples and paint! Oh my!

  1. First of all, I’m in total denial about the whole summer is ending statement. That said, total love for the pumpkin color in the livingroom picture. It is so warm and inviting, truly! I don’t think I could pull it off anywhere but downstairs, but I can appreciate your love for the color. And of course, I too love autumn. The colors of the leaves (eat your heart out sunny Florida!), smells, apple picking, pumpkin patches, etc. I’m with you there girl!

Leave a Reply

